Advertisement

SPORTEuropa Conference League: Why didn’t Emi Martinez receive a second yellow card?

Apr 19, 2024 | Sports

Aston Villa goalkeeper Emi Martinez sparked confusion when he avoided a sending-off despite receiving a second yellow card in their Europa Conference League quarter-final second leg against Lille on Thursday evening.

Martinez had initially been cautioned for time-wasting during regular time and received a second yellow during the penalty shootout. The tie ended 3-3 on aggregate after 120 minutes.

However, the Argentine goalkeeper remained on the field and made two crucial saves as Villa advanced to the semi-finals.

Football transfer expert Fabrizio Romano shed light on the rule that permitted Martinez to stay in the game.

In his tweet, he clarified, “Dibu Martínez did it again. Two penalties were saved, silencing the crowd in France (!) and helping Aston Villa to enter the semi-finals.

“Martínez was also booked in the first half, then he got a second yellow card in the penalty shootout…

“…but he wasn’t sent off as ‘a player who receives a yellow card during match penalties is NOT sent off’.”

Recent Posts